Honda Twins banner

Cl175 dropped on a beach rebuild (Now a running 200cc)

78K views 266 replies 48 participants last post by  goodoltup 
#1 ·
So other than basic top end gasket replacement and setting valves and points this is my first build
I brought the whole bike for $100 nz = $60 us. Last ridden and dropped on an ocean beach. Think salt, water, sand, then add 10+ years of sitting outside because it wouldn't go.......perfect place to start :) the frame ? Swing arm rusted thru. Carbs full of pink crystals??? Forks very pitted but still in my garage, alot just rust stuck to rust or so brittle that it broke when I looked at it. I'm starting with the engine

Attachments

See less See more
#6 ·
Re: Cl175 dropped on a beach rebuild

Wow! Hopefully the pistons loosen up and you're able to see how the crank is. I'll be following this. Let me know if you need help sourcing parts. Good luck.

#13 ·

I recently picked up a very rough CJ360T and felt like I had paid too much for, but you are making my latest bike purchase look like an absolute steel for three times the money!

Looking forward to seeing this one brought back to life.

Have you decided on direction beyond rehabilitation?

#15 ·

So tore the engine down, top end ... cam, points, advancer all need replacing. Split the cases. 1 can crc strip it, 2 cans heavy duty degreaser, 4 cans of crc and a pile of synthetic 000 steel wool later.....oh and about two days of scrubbing. Doesn't look to bad if you like your aluminum to look camo. Gearbox is looking good NOW. Luckily the oil cooked like tar to most of the parts seemed to stop the rust from being too evil ( unlike the top end ) I looked on line lots of people have posted about mythical cb/cl 175's running 200 pistons but no one seems to have written anything other than why you can't ....wrist pin size etc . So here's my attempt......

Attachments

#16 ·

Rocketsled said:
At what point do you think "Building a new bike from Ore might be a better idea." ?