Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm a novice mechanic here so go easy on me...

A year ago, my 1972 CB450 had some idling issues, the notorious 2nd gear pop-out issue, and low compression (140 psi on both cylinders). With those issues present, I decided to go ahead with a full rebuild and basically a frame-up restoration too. The bike was bored out to 0.25 over-sized and dealt with the transmission issues while at it.

Three days ago, I finished putting it all back together and fired it up for the first time. Everything is great, except that same idle problem is back.

The bike revs up to about 3000 RPMs and just stays there. If I reduce the idle, it dies -- and this only happens after it's warmed up. When it isn't hovering at a steady 3000, it's fluctuating up and down on its own. It also has this weird issue where if I lean the bike over to the left, like I'm going to lean it on the kickstand, the idle drops.

I took the carbs back off of the bike and cleaned them out again as best as I could, blowing cleaner through all of the holes in the carb bodies. I put it all back together and it seemed good at first, but then started doing it again. The carb boots are not leaking -- they're new, soft, and flexible. The air filters are originals -- not great, but I wanted everything to be stock so I could eliminate guess work. I'll play with filters later. The jetting in the carbs is all stock (145 main jets for 1972). The carbs are the later style (723A). The carbs were rebuilt using the Common Motor Collective's kits and all of the parts matched my originals in size and shape. Needles were slightly different, but functionally the same as I recall (I did this last year).

Valves were just adjusted during the rebuild. Points were set statically.