Honda Twins banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm no mechanic (yet), but my rocker arms look inconsistent. Or rather the parts that ride on the cam shaft look pitted and worn. The intake arms on both look pretty worn down, the exhaust arms looks better but still sorta worn. Theres no damage to the camshaft as far as I can tell and it all measures to spec.

I read on here I could get them shipped off to get resurfaced, but wanted to see if I need to do that or replace them or what. What exactly am I looking for to make that call?
Can post more photos if needed.

'72 CL350

Attachments

·
Registered
59 Posts
The exhausts look OK but those intakes are done for. Look on eBay and see if you can find a set with two that look as good as your exhaust rockers. I needed one for my CD175 and bought a set of four for just $25 where three looked fine.

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The exhausts look OK but those intakes are done for. Look on eBay and see if you can find a set with two that look as good as your exhaust rockers.
Ah, was afraid of that. One of them looks deformed. I'll check eBay, I figure it'd be quicker than getting them resurfaced anyways.

Anyone know how thick they should be? I haven't been able to find the specs for that. If I can just replace the intake arms that'd be great.
I read that there's two different types of rocker arms for 350s, based on what year it was manufactured. Like one is "fatter" than the other. What's that based on?

·
Premium Member
2,149 Posts
The rockers are different length/angle on early motors. You should be OK with '73 rockers in a '72. You need to check with the worn ones when you get them. While your waiting do the oil transfer piece mod (same as on 360 but easier) Bike was used at consistent high rpm for rockers to wear like that (or run real low on oil?)

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 · (Edited)