Honda Twins banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When people do mods to these bikes and welding is needed, what kind of welder is the most useful? I've done some research on TIG MIG and stick, as well as acetylene torch welding... but I have no experience (I'm a quick learner with this stuff though). My uncle does welding on the farm and I'm thinking I'll probably get some tutorials from him, but what do you guys use? How many amps are needed for basic frame mods/repairs, and especially for exhaust work, and what is a good out for a beginner to start out with?

·
Premium Member
1,638 Posts
DISCLAIMER: I am just speaking based off what I hear from my roommate who has done a fair share of welding for automotive related projects.

I hear that MIG welding is the easiest to start off with but if you want "pro" welds, a TIG is what you need, but for a beginner it might be more than you need.

·
Premium Member
2,386 Posts
The "best" type of welding depends on what material you are working on. If you're going to be welding the frame and steel parts then just about anything will work. TIG, MIG and gas welding will all look good but I'd stay away from using a stick unless you're very good with it. When you start getting into MIG and TIG then all machines are not created equal and I'd stay away from the flux core MIG welders.

If you're going to be welding some aluminum parts then TIG is the way to go although there are some techniques and materials that will allow you to weld aluminum with an Oxy/Acet set-up.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Welding machines have their own characteristics and features. You can actually check them as you visit your favorite welding store. Though, I suggest MIG welder; its features may be appropriate to your present inquiry.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Mig or Tig would be the way I'd go.

Like a previous poster mentioned, not all welders are created equal.