Honda Twins banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For those that didn't read my introduction post, a little back story on why I have this bike... I work full time in Dallas and have to commute 4-6x a week up to Denton to go to college (I am also a full time student, if this clues you in at all to my insanity) and couldn't keep putting nearly 500 miles a week on my car. It just wasn't economical.

I had some spare grant money burning holes in my pockets, so I decided to browse craigslist for my dream motorcycle. Now, let me say that my dream motorcycle was a bike that was running but obviously needed some work. I actually -wanted- a project bike because I am clearly insane and need committed. So I found this Honda CM400A for $500. Carbs were clean (supposedly, but that's another story) and it ran. It, also supposedly, didn't need any major work.

I decided to go that night and check it out. It was running/idling for 10 minutes by the time I got there for this guy who was interested. I saw the bike and instantly fell in love. I will freely admit that I didn't do much research into the CM400s other than seeing they were reliable Honda's and will get me from Point A to Point B without killing myself -- so when I asked about the clutch I was surprised when they said it was an automatic. Now, I don't mind owning an automatic, but I really feel like I'm on the short bus sometimes when I'm riding it.

I got my MSC under my belt and my license already -- after a five hour wait at the DMV, my license photo shows me very unhappy and I'm ready to begin my adventure into project bike land....

ENJOY MY PHOTOS AND PAIN!

This is the day I got it home. Notice how much of a wreck it is? Yeah, I thought so too. Also let me know if my photos are too big.

HOLY CRAP LOOK AT THOSE SWEET PIPES GUYS!!!