Honda Twins banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3,926 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I can't wait for those pictures!!! Hurry man! :p I'm glad to hear you've got her running and everything's good so far!! This is killer!!

P.S. What brand of camchain would you recommend for my 74?? You can PM me to keep things less cluttered.. :D

GB :mrgreen:

·
Registered
6,495 Posts
I generally try to get parts from Honda - the cam chains are still available, but they're almost $100 from Honda.
I can't afford that, personally.
So I just got the regular ol' EBay-type cam chain - I forget the brand name, but it's the one you see all the time.
I've heard some guys recommend a CB750 cam chain, though I have no experience with that.

Sorry I can't be more help on this.......

·
Registered
3,926 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Still waiting for that update, including pics!! ;)

As long as it's a 29H chain then I should be good to go right?

GB

·
Registered
6,495 Posts
Bird76Mojo said:
Still waiting for that update, including pics!! ;)

As long as it's a 29H chain then I should be good to go right?

GB
The fiche calls it "DK219" - not too sure what that means.

I hear some talk that the aftermarket chains may have side plates that are a bit large and dig into the cam sprocket cushions more than the stock chains do.
I can't verify that either, and I always replace those o-ring cushion things anyway. They're still available from Honda for cheap. Word is they (aftermarket chains) may cause a bit more top end noise - I can't verify that either. Lots of stuff flying around up there in a 450 - but it's still not as noisy as a 350 for some reason, probably because of the closer tolerances.
I also have never tried a 750 cam chain (it's longer and would need to be cut down) - word is they are a bit more robust. however, I've never seen a 450 cam chain break - I've seen plenty of rollers disintegrate, but never a broken chain in its own.