Honda Twins banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was mounting some new turn signals on my 1973 Honda CL350. I just completed the front two and one left rear and they worked fine. I accidently hit the electric starter button while moving a brake lever and something shorted out. Now my turns won't come on, but my headlight, speedo lights, neutral light still work. By the way when I checked the fuse it didn't have one and the person I bought it from just attached the cables together. I just installed a fresh 15A and still the same no turns. I can't try to start the bike since it is not fully assembled right now. Any one out there have a idea on what I blew out? Damn it I am a newbie at this stuff. Oh well add this to my growing list of bloopers.

·
Sensei
27,183 Posts
Power to the t/s runs from the ignition switch through the flasher relay to the handlebar switch and then through the harness to the bulbs which ground the circuit to "heat-up" the flasher relay.... Since the other lights work, you have power to the ignition switch and main harness....... TRY checking voltage with the key on, at the black wire on the flasher (meter red lead) across to a ground (meter common lead (black)) If you read voltage there, read from the gray flasher wire (meter red) to ground (meter black) and see if the power is going through the flasher. IF voltage there, the flasher module is good, and the problem lies further "downstream" in the circuit..... If not, replace flasher...... Once you're this far let me know results, and we'll investigate further "downstream" if necessary.... Steve

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·