Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know, I know, why didn't I do it before I started riding it?

Well the bike comes from a known source. I know both of it's last two owners, I know it to run fine and be viable as is. Basically it needed a tire, a battery and licensed to run. It still needs a back tire, the rubber is fine but nearly bald, but money is always the thing. So I just got the money, she's getting stuff done today (or tomorrow, depending a bit on weather), save for the back tire.

A few things to ask though. I remember the last time I owned a Nighthawk 450 the engine, even with everything adjusted correctly was still fairly clattery at idle. Same was actually true of my 700S as well. As soon as the revs pick up even a little the noice lessens, but they just aren't super quiet at the best of times IIRC? I remember the guy at the honda shop saying, that at idle all Hondas of that era make some level of cam chain noise, as long as it's not loud or obnoxious it's fine.

Now IDK about the strength of my cam chain tensioner spring, I'm thinking of giving it a little prod with a scredriver while I'm in there doing valves. Of course I don't wanna overtighten, so does anyone have any hints on this?

Also, will I need bent feeler guages for the valves?

Thanks ;)

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Oh yeah I also gotta make a home made manometer. I think my carbs are close, it seems to run good and idles nicely at less than 1000rpm which tells me it's ballpark, but being a perfectionist, it's time to get creative with clear tubing zipties a board and tranny fluid.

·
Premium Member
24,208 Posts