Honda Twins banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! I'm new to the forum so please forgive me as I'm still learning the ropes. I was hoping someone could lend me some advice in trying to get my bike started. When I press the ignition button my solenoid clicks, but the engine does not roll over. I tried replacing the starter motor, as the old one did not work on or off the bike, and I can feel the starter moving slightly now, but I can't figure out what's up with it, as it's still just a solenoid click with no ignition. I was thinking my next move would be to replace the solenoid, but honestly I'm pretty inexperienced as this is my first project. Help would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

·
Sensei
27,018 Posts
Can you turn the engine over manually (wrench/socket on alternator rotor bolt at end of crankshaft)? BUT, LEAVE KEY TURNED OFF......

Will be easier if you temporarily remove spark-plugs......

·
Registered
500 Posts
If it doesn't turn over easily with spark plugs off, it is. Do you have a kick start? If yes, plugs off, then press the kick start with your hand (not your foot, if it is seized, you don't want to damage anything), should turn over. If not, put oil then wait and try again later. Then you have to check your compression after to see if the piston rings are fine.

If no kick start, have to do what 66Sprint said on a previous post.

Mine was a bit and tried 2 days later and just my weight was enough to free it.

Good luck and keep us posted

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
If it doesn't turn over easily with spark plugs off, it is. Do you have a kick start? If yes, plugs off, then press the kick start with your hand (not your foot, if it is seized, you don't want to damage anything), should turn over. If not, put oil then wait and try again later. Then you have to check your compression after to see if the piston rings are fine.