Honda Twins banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I just took my case apart to inspect the tranny and replace parts as necessary. I noticed this wear mark in the case (from a gear) and also noted some abnormal wear on the adjacent shift fork. Is the shift fork bent a little? Is the wear caused by the shift fork? This is my first time in a 450 tranny but I’m familiar with the shift detent star and roller issues and that they can cause other shift fork problems. The bike did have an issue popping back into neutral from first and second.

Edit: here’s another photo of the shift fork in question:Is this wear too much and is the gear wear on the case a cause for concern?

·
Registered
1,479 Posts
Lay the shafts and gears back in and run it thru by hand and see how much play there is and if the gears are rubbing the case. Looks to me like the shift forks need replaced. I would also check the area
that the forks ride in. Hard to tell with seeing it all.

Bill

·
Registered
2,995 Posts
That fork in the second picture is bent, rub marks down in the throat. The gear should never touch there, only on the machined pads at the ends

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Ok cool. I have some replacement shift forks that I can swap out. As for the grooves where the forks ride, I deglazed them using some red scotch bright and they look nice and smooth. The next thing I need to address is the gear rubbing on the inside of the case. It hasn’t rubbed much. Maybe
.010” of an inch at most. It seems like the larger gears on the end of each shaft could have a little less slop. Like the washer that is right next to the large gears could be thicker. Is it common to shim these shafts for play?

·
Registered
13,085 Posts