Honda Twins banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I've been working on restoring a 1974 CB450 for several months now. I've got it running quite well now, however, I have been getting some popping on the right side and the right carb doesn't seem to respond as well to adjustments. A friend of mine suggested that maybe there was a vacuum leak on the throttle shaft and sure enough, there is.

I have checked the parts fiche on these carbs and I don't see any seals/o-rings or anything that appear to go in there. Has anyone else experienced this?

I'm thinking of maybe placing an o-ring to stop the leak.... would there be any problem with this?

·
Sensei
27,183 Posts
None I can think of immediately........... :D

·
Registered
140 Posts
Did someone mention slathering some grease arond the shafts to seal the vac leak? It seems I read that here. Or maybe that was temporary and just to verify that there was a leak there?

·
Premium Member
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the replies. Likely this week we'll get into them and see what we've got! This is what she looks like at the moment (moto morini 125h tank):

I'm having the seat reshaped and recovered.

·
Premium Member
2,386 Posts
That's an interesting looking tank and seat combination. What are you using for headlight mounting brackets?

·
Registered
6,495 Posts
MNellis said:
That's an interesting looking tank and seat combination. What are you using for headlight mounting brackets?
Mike -

Those look like the same fork ears I put on my fo-fitty - off EBay for about $30, as I recall.
Polished aluminum, nice look......

·
Premium Member
2,386 Posts
tbpmusic said:
MNellis said:
Mike -

Those look like the same fork ears I put on my fo-fitty - off EBay for about $30, as I recall.

Cool, I won't use them for my current project but they would work nice for something else I might do in the future.

·
Premium Member
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·