Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 196 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everybody,

So here I am again, finally making a project log as recommended by many. After starting my endeavor I now realize as a newbie I have more questions about this bike than I do dollars to build it :D. After my previous inquiry about painting the frame, I was so impressed and inspired by the community on this forum, I have decided that I want to be a part of it too. So hopefully by making this log, I can get some much-needed advice and feedback from more experienced people. I am going to try to keep this up to date weekly and will make sure to include many pictures.

I will start out by giving a little history of me, the bike, and what I want to do with it.

In the summer of 2016, I purchased a 1987 KTM Enduro (350 2 stroke) to work on. I recall buying the thing for $350. Back then I have very little knowledge of bikes and really did not even know how to downshift properly. I started to do some research and realized that it needed new brakes and a carb rebuild, not just a good clean. Once completed my parents urged me to sell it (probably smart at the time, would have hurt myself.) I posted the listing on Craigslist and within 2 days sold it to a guy for $850, making a profit of about $300. (He was actually impressed with the work.) I soon realized that I actually had a lot of fun learning in this process and that it was not just about the profit.