Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Trying to get a video on this post to verify. Will try desktop in a bit.

I have been messing with this 1971 CB450K4 for a few years, off & on now, and this is my first time playing with the starter motor. I have been able to start it with the kicker, but wore myself out recently while trying to get it to idle decently and tune it. Having issues again.

Battery is fresh, polarity is correct there (not labeled wrong), and while jumping the starter cable to the battery, the SM turns clockwise. I would believe it should spin CCW to turn the motor the correct way? The starter clutch spun free, which led me to investigate further. I’ll probably rebuild the starter clutch also. But shouldn’t the SM turn CCW, same direction as the motor?

I have taken this apart a few times now, while double/triple checking alignment marks and assembly lines. Everything seems to go together “one-way”.. scratching my head here. Do I even have the right Starter motor?? Instead of tinkering more & potentially wasting time, I’m considering to purchase a used, properly working one to rebuild.. (Hopefully spinning CCW).. unless this can be fixed?!

Ahh, any further knowledge/advice is highly appreciated. I’ve searched the forum but haven’t come across any similar troubles. Thank you all

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,364 Posts
COUNTER clockwise should be correct..
Not sure why or HOW it is spinning clockwise.. the only thing I can think is maybe it is either wired incorrect or the polarity got reversed(don't ask me how they would happen.. I have NO Idea)..

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
I was trying to think of an engine from Honda that had the starter motor facing the opposite side, like a 305 might since the alternator is on the right... but that starter motor looks too new-style to be from a 305... right?

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #7