Honda Twins banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a CB400N with a rattle that follows the revs. Local mechanic said it probably was the stabilizer chain that had some slack, and just "ignore it". As long as it does not wreak havoc on the engine that part is fine, but it's loud enough to be annoying. Common problem I guess, but I would prefer to not have it ticking away like that.
Easy fix or more complex for a four stroke novice? I have a lot of experience with two stroke engines, but four strokes are new to me.
Could this be rectified without splitting the engine, or am I looking at a bigger job here?

·
Administrator
8,487 Posts
The top of the chain guide and the tension spring is accessible under the head but the bottom pin is tied into the crankcase.

Jaw Ear Organism Font Art

·
Registered
1,844 Posts
You will need a Honda full service manual . What 01-7700 shows is the timing chain and it can be adjusted by loosening and tightening the screw on the head under the carbs . Part # 10. With the motor at idle loosen the bolt and let the chain self adjust. The balance chain adjuster is under the right side cover. The manual will tell you how to adjust the balance chain. You might need a gasket for the cover and it might be the time to change the oil and filter since you will have to drain the oil to remove the cover. You can remove the seat and tank then the valve cover and see the top of the timing chain and sprocket and the tip of the slides and maybe see if something is wrong. You will have to split the cases to get to the balance chain. Some of the 400 motors have an access port to get to the balance chain adjuster but I dont know if yours does.

Bill H

·
Registered
1,092 Posts
DO NOT adjust cam chain via the bolt ten in the head. This bolt should be tight, do not shear it off, it's a 6mm bolt, 10mm af.

Adjust the cam chain via the nut on the back of the cylinder below the carbs, part 11.

If your bike where mine....