Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,610 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have to open up my engine to diagnose a transmission noise, and I'm wondering if it's completely necessary to remove the head, cylinders and pistons like the manual states? I know it will make it easier to get the engine out of the frame but is it necessary? I'll most likely just be looking at the two transmission shafts and possibly the shifter items (i.e. forks and drum).

Also, what is used to seal the two cases when putting back together. Any recommendations?

Thanks

·
Registered
6,495 Posts
I'm no expert on your bike, but - (all I really did with my 79 CB400T2 was steal parts to graft into my mutated 450).......

Generally you do not have to remove the top end, but I don't think the job (splitting cases) can be done without pulling the engine.

Typically, no sealant is used on the cases.

If I'm off base on any of this, someone please correct me.........

·
Sensei
27,163 Posts
I'm in total agreement with Bill, except I use a thin film of "Hondabond" on the case halves... and NO additional sealants where there are gaskets.... (Bill likes a film of silicone on his gasketing)..... It's pretty much personal preference....CLEAN/Lack of damage is the most important factor in getting a good seal...

·
Registered
6,495 Posts
66Sprint said:
(Bill likes a film of silicone on his gasketing)
Well, you'll note that I never tell anyone to do that.
It's one of those "do as I say, not as I do" kinda things.
You need to be VERY judicious in your use of silicon, and I don't want to be responsible for anyone screwing up their engine.
Typically I only use it on the right and left engine cases (clutch cover/alternator cover), and even then very carefully. You need to know where the oil "routing" on your motor is, and stay away from those spots.........

·
Premium Member
5,610 Posts
Discussion Starter #6