Honda Twins banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, my 1974 CB360T has been having issues with the spark plugs fouling out with carbon deposits (not oil from what I can see). Everyone says it's running rich, but I don't know how to fix it. I purchased the bike in April, and replaced the battery, spark plugs, plug boots, and carbs. Had the carbs professionally installed, but I'm still concerned if it was done correctly. I keep losing power to the left side of the bike too, and I'm not sure what to look for next. The plugs seem to foul out really fast too after only riding about 60 miles or so. I was going to buy new coils and a condenser too, but others are telling me the points may be the issue. I also have a new wiring harness because I'm concerned if everything is connected properly. I'm a novice with working on these bikes, so I appreciate any advice you guys have. I do have a couple difference manuals on the bike from Honda and Clymer too. Thanks.

·
Registered
3,205 Posts
Maybe your carb guys swapped the main jets for parts from one of those aftermarket carb kits, aftermarket kits are notorious for having the wrong size jets.

·
Registered
3,205 Posts
Probably tells in the factory service manual. You might try switching to one step hotter spark plugs before you dig into the carbs, see what that does first.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Probably tells in the factory service manual. You might try switching to one step hotter spark plugs before you dig into the carbs, see what that does first.
I actually tried one step hotter plugs and got the same result. The manual also doesn't have the sizes for the jets either.

·
Registered
3,205 Posts
Jet sizes right there in that chart.

·
Registered
590 Posts
That chart is not correct. Primary should be 68, secondary 95 (depends on which carbs) to 110, and idle 35.