Honda Twins banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm a 36 Philadelphian suburb teacher looking at $750 scrambler that needs some love. I don't have a welder (yet) or a beautiful shop. I have grit and a love for the bike but not sure if it's enough! A plus is my father in law owns a body shop so painting it is good. Any1 looking give me an idea of what the hell I'm in for if I decide to purchase? The original panels and lights are included but not shown in the pic. The bike runs.. Any help would be appreciated!

Attachments

·
Registered
170 Posts
Best decision I ever made was getting my 74 cb450! I had never ridden a bike before in my life when I got it. Nor had I any engine experience. But I just did the whole engine with nothing but a Honda manual, YouTube, and the help of the guys on this forum. Hell ya, it’s a great idea! You’re in for a lot of hours depending on the shape it’s in and what needs to be done (the pics aren’t loading on my phone for some reason), but it’s manageable!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
163 Posts
Most definitely. Do it. Just get it safe and ride the hell out of it. Don't try to build a cafe racer, or a brat, or a steampunk or whatever the next fad is. They're great bikes as-is. Just ride it.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Hello, I'm a 36 Philadelphian suburb teacher looking at $750 scrambler that needs some love. I don't have a welder (yet) or a beautiful shop. I have grit and a love for the bike but not sure if it's enough! A plus is my father in law owns a body shop so painting it is good. Any1 looking give me an idea of what the hell I'm in for if I decide to purchase? The original panels and lights are included but not shown in the pic. The bike runs.. Any help would be appreciated!
I undertook a similar project. I did not have a welder either, but bought one from harbor freight for $80. Mine was in much worse shape, I believe.

https://cl350blog.wordpress.com

·
Registered