Honda Twins banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All, I've been lurking here for a long time, this is my first post. Long story short, I'm rebuilding a CB350 to race in Novice Production Lightweight at the Topeka AHRMA race in June. Personally I'm not a brilliant mechanic, nor do I have any special knowledge of motorcycles or engine building. I started on this project 2 years ago with a much different goal in mind, but the race opportunity has presented itself and it sounds like fun. I'm just about done rebuilding the engine, the head is at the machinist today being decked and getting a valve job. This weekend I plan to install that head, and then the cam box, cam, rockers, etc.. Here's my quandary:

1) I have 3 engines currently deconstructed that have come back together into the 1 (hopefully) running race engine
2) I wasn't extremely meticulous in tearing down the engines. I might be able to mate 4 rockers with their original cam, but there's no possible way I could tell you which cam lobe each rocker originally lined up with.

My question is how I should proceed with filling the cam box. Since I can't match rockers to their original cam lobe, should I have the whole shooting match serviced by my machinist? Or is that overkill? Will a cam that passes visual inspection, when installed with 4 rockers that pass visual inspection, ultimately perform the way it is supposed to regardless of the fact that they haven't worn together over whatever number of miles may or may not be on them all?

I'm at my office right now, when I get home tonight I should be able to add photos of the cam/rockers I intend to use if necessary.

Thanks!

·
Sensei
27,168 Posts
You do know there are two types of cams and you must use the correct rockers for that cam, and its easiest if you use the matching cam box as well (one can work for either type cam, the other not so much)......

·
Registered
13,085 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts