Honda Twins banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey everyone,

I was slacking on creating a project thread, but I'm finally here. Picked up my first bike, this running and driving '74 CL360 with 27k miles about a month ago and have been taking my time tearing it apart and learning as I go. My goal for this bike is to restore it to all it's mechanical glory, while making some appearance modifications. This is my first project, so I'm going to be taking it slow, and hopefully learning a lot along the way.

The first question I want to ask is: What are the main components to consider replacing or upgrading on this model of bike, or a bike of this age in general? I am aware of the cam chain tensioner recall, and the rear swing arm bushing upgrade that sounds fairly common, but is there anything else I should be aware of or specifically evaluate on this bike?

I'm looking forward to the feedback, and am always looking for advice and tips. Thanks in advance!

Honda_One.jpg Honda_Two.jpg

·
Premium Member
3,006 Posts
The ONLY Main Components I would recommend for replacement would be the Regulator/Rectifier.
Well, maybe an Electronitc Ignition but NOT at 1st.

The Charging System Technology available at the time was about 75-80% efficient and with age drops into 60% efficient range.
An upgrade to the charging system and smoothing out of the voltage goes a long way.

But... do your best to simply make it a runner before making any significant modifications, and ride it for a bit.
Trouble shooting OEM Factory is much, much easier than making a bunch of changes and then trying to figure out where the issues are.

Reactions: 83XLX

·
Premium Member
5,550 Posts
+1 on charging upgrades, the older recifers leaked quite a bit and because the terminals are covered they also corrode and cause more loss. Upgrading to a combo regulator/rectifier unit is the the #1 thing I tell people to do on these, just makes them a ton more reliable.