Honda Twins banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I hope this is the right area for exhaust questions. I have a 1975 CB200t that's in pretty good shape. Unfortunately, the bike spent most of it's life in California, and the coastal air has caused minor rust spots on most of the chrome. I just noticed that there are several spots that have rusted out on the underside of my scrambler exhaust pipes which it's blowing exhaust out from (holes are about 1" long by 1/4"-1/2" wide). The P.O. also patched a hole toward the front of the pipes. They had some mud dobber welds, but they are fortunately covered by the heat shield shrouds. so I have three questions.

1. Does holes in the exhaust pipes rob performance?
2. What would you guys recommend for repairing these holes?
3. Is there anything else I should do to the exhaust while I have it off the bike for repairs?

I'm a complete noob at motorcycle wrenching, and wasn't sure if the exhaust pipes begin to accumulate black deposits that could restrict air flow.
As of right now, I am thinking of removing the pipes, soaking them in a degreasing/cleaning solution, then soaking them in a rust bath (Metal Rescue) to treat the rust, and then patching the holes with a high heat J-B Weld product (see link)

https://www.amazon.com/J-B-Weld-37901-Temperature-Resistant/dp/B01IBOBY74/ref=asc_df_B01IBOBY74/?tag=hyprod-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid=312168100217&hvpos=1o1&hvnetw=g&hvrand=12722544881751214962&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9027395&hvtargid=aud-801381245258:pla-406302983505&psc=1

Is my thinking off on any of this, and has anyone used similar product for the repair, or used a technique that you'd recommend?
Thanks for your help!
-Hayden

Exhaust_1.jpg
Exhaust_2.jpg
Exhaust_3.jpg

·
Super Moderator
9,880 Posts