Honda Twins banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,386 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm attempting to try and fix a broken insert that I had on my GL1000. These caps are the same as the CB450 (at least on my K3). In fact, I pulled the one off my 450 to use on the GL1000 while I fixed this one.

Keep in mind, I'm not a machinist. I always wanted to be one and even got a degree in Machine Technology from a College in Portland, OR about 30 years ago. I worked as a Maintainence Machinist for a couple of years while I was in college but eventually got into the restaurant business in order to make my fortune.....NOT.

Anyway, I've got a cheap little Harbor Freight style table top lathe which works great for this type of work. I don't have much in the way of tooling though so I have to make do.

With that disclaimer, please offer up any suggestions as to how this might have been a little easier. I haven't tested the cap yet but will do so on the GL in a few days.

Here is the start, I just got a call from one of the restaurants and I have to run out and fix some equipment but I don't want to loose this text. I'll finish up the rest of the 10 photos or so later.

Here I chucked up the carb top making sure the jaws are covered so it doesn't damage the inside of the carb. It doesn't have to be tight since I won't be hogging out a bunch of metal.edit

·
Premium Member
2,386 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Ok, where was I before I was so rudely interrupted......oh yea, replacing white plastic inserts.

Using a lot of care, I took out as much material as I could without hitting the black material under the white cap. You can just start to see the black gasket iin this photo. Additionally, I took it out all the way to the "roll" of the carb top without hitting the top.