Honda Twins banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up a 1971 CB100 recently to make into a street scrambler/mini adventure bike. This is my first project bike so I'm learning as I go. Bought the bike as a non runner but after consulting the original manual found the main issue was the timing and the points were in contact with eachover and got it started. Anyhow the problem I found when tuning the carb is that the slide seems to stick, the weird part is when I tighten the carb onto the engine the slide becomes even more resistant to movement to the point where it will hold the throttle open. I've checked the throttle and it isn't the culprit and the spring in the carb certainly isn't weak.

Anyone else ran into this problem? Is it fixable or is this a case of replacing the carb?

·
Premium Member
2,074 Posts
Sorry but we need pictures of that nice CB100 before we can help!!
Just kidding , lol but we would love to see it!

Someone will be along to help.
Where abouts in England?

·
Sensei
27,171 Posts
Over-tightening has been known to bend the carb flanges and "warp" the bodies.... Sometimes fixable, sometimes not.....
If the slide still binds when carb is unbolted and removed from engine, it is replacement time........

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Sorry but we need pictures of that nice CB100 before we can help!!
Just kidding , lol but we would love to see it!

Someone will be along to help.
Where abouts in England?
Near Liverpool, I'll try get some pics up soon for you

Over-tightening has been known to bend the carb flanges and "warp" the bodies.... Sometimes fixable, sometimes not.....
If the slide still binds when carb is unbolted and removed from engine, it is replacement time........