Honda Twins banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
as a novice, I might be missing something here but I don't understand the need for dual throttle cables. I'm working on an '80 CM400 and getting familiar with carbs/throttle cables and I just don't see the need for the "push" cable. Is it there as a safety precaution -- should pull cable get stuck open you can "push" it closed?

·
Registered
554 Posts
Rumor has it that Honda included them as a California-required safety measure. I run without one on my 360, but YMMV. They don’t seem to serve a required function, but some people like having them for extra security.

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
spirograph, thanks for info. I think I'll live life on the edge and go with just the pull cable.

·
Registered
3,537 Posts
Actually, it is a pull - pull cable. Pull the throttle open, pull the throttle closed. A single cable throttle depends on the carb return spring to get the engine engine back to idle speed. The pull closed cable allows for a lighter return spring (or none) on the carb. This gives a lighter throttle. If you have ever ridden any distance you will know what this means. Correct, it is a safety item. If you remove it, why not get rid of the kill switch too? Nothing like a run away bike engine to get your heart racing.

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
James, the limited research I've done says that Hondas around age of my bike--1980--have push-pull throttles. I'm thinking that both cables are push-pull in that when you open throttle, one cable pulls and other pushes, vice-versa when closing throttle. And after your explanation about riding at distance wondering if it's less a safety thing and more about fatigue in hand? Also, good idea about kill switch. thinking i might also go without brakes.

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Found this additional info which explains dual cables fairly clearly. guess I'll keep both