Honda Twins banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been posting all of this up on the DoTheTon forums, but since I just joined here, I thought I'd post again.

Since I'm new to the whole older bike scene, and bikes in general, this is my short term project to get the bike "reliable"

My FINAL goals are to have a cool little cafe bike to ride around town .

Here's how old brownie started out

inside the tank... ew..

Started the teardown

to find this in the right carb...

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Well, The fuel tank no longer looks like a brownie ;D Sent it to work with my dad to stick it in a dip tank at the airport, which worked really well for cleaning out the inside, but didn't remove decals at all... Turns out, this tank has been cut open and rewelded before, making rust removal a non-issue. Still, it's getting POR-15'ed as we speak.

What do you guys think? I think I want it to be brushed look with clear over it, or flat black.

Pulled the stator cover off and gave it a nice refurbishing...
before

after

Got the ignition cylinder bracket and toolbox stripped and painted today. These were REALLY rusty, and now they are primed and painted with the most overkill paint for these two parts :p

Got a new chain for it today too. Tomorrow will be testing out a chrome-friendly rust removal method I've used on bicycles before

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
UPDATE! new parts have arrived!

So the spokes on these wheels are Ruuuuuussstyy! They look like they are still fine to ride on, but they definitely are not worth trying to refinish; just too much pitting there. I got the old (OEM! what a pain!) tires off the bike and my new ones came in. Not period correct, but they should have some nasty grip for the street.

As she sits now

Also got my new carb cores in yesterday, man was this thing nasty! Sitting in some Berryman's right now