Honda Twins banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!

Bought my first motorcycle ('73 CB350) last month from a guy who likes to 'save' old Hondas. He did a great job fixing it up, and it has been running better than expected from a 46 year old bike, but I ran into 2 issues that I would appreciate some guidance on. I have experience in doing routine maintenance on my car, but I'm new to motorcycle engine work. That said, learning how to do engine work was part of the reason I bought this bike, so I'm eager to get my hands dirty and learn something new.

1. There is a occasionally noticeable power dip when starting from a stop, especially when the bike is still warming up. I'll rev the engine after engaging first gear, but the bike will just make more noise and not really give more power for a few seconds, then the engine sort of reengages and starts operating normally. This does not happen often, but it did happen twice on my last ride. Could this be an issue with the points or carb?
2. I recently filled up the gas tank (for the third time since I bought the bike), there was a very small gas leak that developed after letting the bike sit overnight. I turned the gas tank valve to "off" and that stopped the leak. I've read that this might be due to the carb overflow not being fully sealed, but could it also be due to the fact that the gas tank is completely full and it's just slightly too much pressure on the carb float? Should this be something I'm concerned about, and is it safe to still ride the bike?

Thank you and warm regards,
mntmn

·
Registered
11 Posts