Honda Twins banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I'm sorry if this is a topic that already exists, I did some searching but can only find quite specific questions relating to paint and finishes.

I've just gotten my first project bike, a CB250T. I'm pretty new to tinkering with bikes, and since I do not yet have the bike and my tools in the same location I'm spending probably far too much time planning the project and not enough time doing. However, one of the things I obviously need to consider is where to spend money. It seems to me that most people doing bike renovations powder coat at least the frame and also ? engine parts?

I'm hoping to change the colourscheme of the bike to have a dark grey/black engine, grey/black exhaust, red frame and some sort of light coloured tank. That of course means changing the colour of almost every component - and so I reckon I might change my plans as the numbers add up...

So, my question is multi-pronged:
- Is powdercoating the frame a "must"?
- What about engine parts and exhaust? I've seen discussion about heat proof paint, but was told by a salesperson for aftermarket exhaust that this was insufficient for exhaust and that I would need to get it ?HPC coated or it would rust?
- How can I best prepare chromed surfaces for painting or coating?

Any advice pitched at absolute beginners appreciated.

Cheers

·
Premium Member
10,203 Posts
Nothing is mandatory. ;)

Nothing is forbidden. :oops:

I would suggest you start by reviewing some of the project logs here. There are any number of ways to do a project and these are a great source of ideas and inspiration.

What you decide to do will of course be influenced by what you decide you want to end up with and how much you're willing to invest in time and resources, like money.