Honda Twins banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been avoiding going through the top end on a '73 cb350 twin whos left cylinder has glossed over with oil and burning white smoke. The right side runs like new but the left (from using the side stand most likley) is no bueno no mass. This tells me that the rings aren't wiping right and possibly there's more top end issues (valves, guides, maybe a bore job is needed). Am I correct in my assumption? Before I rip the top end apart and pull out the bore gauge and check the tolerance, I thought maybe someone had some advice for me before I begin. I'm no master mechanic so maybe someone has a lead on a strong motor near NYC for sale? Or an idea of what else it could be? I'm hoping a simple fix like new rings will solve the problem like a hotter plug did last season but I fear the top and even bottom might be shot. Which I would ditch the entire motor and just look for a new one, right? Any advice is always appreciated. Thanks in advance - Joshua

·
Premium Member
10,203 Posts
After adjusting the valves and a thorough visual inspection a compression/leakdown test would provide a better base of information to proceed on. Unless that identifies something simpler you'll need to remove the top end to determine what needs to be done.

·
Registered
1,173 Posts
you need some better troubleshooting. Is the oil on the OUTSIDE of the engine? White smoke is often a fuel starvation problem, which CAN grenade the motor.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
you need some better troubleshooting. Is the oil on the OUTSIDE of the engine? White smoke is often a fuel starvation problem, which CAN grenade the motor.