Honda Twins banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good afternoon folks! I am new to the twin world and I picked an admittedly leak prone bike (according to most mechanics I've spoken to). I have a 1979 CB400t II and I have it running like a top and safely at this point (again, thanks to a great mechanic).

Next on my list is to start tackling a few small, slow oil leaks. That said, I noticed a new spot in the last couple of days where oil appears to be coming out of the Neutral Safety Switch. I'm including pictures of where it is, and I'm not even certain that is WHAT it is.

What I want to know is the following:
Is it the Neutral Safety Switch?
If it's leaking oil, is it an easy fix (as in just tightening it a little?) or is there a bigger problem?
Any recommendations on this?

I apologize in advance for any ignorance on my part; I'm just now learning. Also, thanks in advance for any help. I'm not sure why the photos are rotated 90 degrees to the left, but hopefully it's not an issue. :)

V/r,

Travis

IMG_1850.JPG

IMG_1849.JPG

·
Premium Member
10,203 Posts
That is the neutral light switch. You need to clean the area thoroughly then dust the area with baby powder or similar. Watch closely after you start the bike and you'll be able to identify whether the leak is around the threads where it screws into the crankcase or is coming up through the switch itself.

Welcome to the group.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Great; I'll pick up some baby powder and follow up with info/photos. Thanks for pointing me in the appropriate direction and for the welcome.

·
Registered
9,796 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Great to see another 400 series here.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #5