Honda Twins banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey so I'm building a '74 cb200. This is my first build and it has gone great until dealing with the electrical. I got a new main switch ( i was having the same problem with the old main switch). The brown/white and brown lines aren't getting any power to them. When i turn the key to the 3rd position, my starter won't work, but i do get power to the Brown line. either way, i still don't get power to the brown/white. I might have explained this really confusingly so let me know if you have any questions. MC Archive this is the link to a cb200T wiring diagram. Any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

·
Registered
9,796 Posts
I believe position one is off, two is everything on, and three is tail light only. Check your fuses.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
ok that makes sense because the brown line goes to the taillight. Is there only 1 fuse? the one going into the starting solenoid? Would the starter work if that fuse was blown? Sorry for all the questions, and thanks.
-austin

·
Registered
473 Posts
You mention in your original post that you were building a '74 cb200, but then mention the cb200T wiring diagram which is for a '75-'76 model and has daytime headlights.
Can you clear that up for us. Also the main switch is only allowing power to pass through from the b/w wire to the brown wire. Power is supplied to the b/w wire on the '74 model from the blk wire in the light control switch. In the '75 model it gets it's power from the starter switch when it's released. (lights are powered down to start the engine)
Your ignition switch is working as it should. If the fuse is good, I'd be looking for a problem in the headlight switch or starter switch, depending on which model you have.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5