Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Folks. Some quick background which you can skip if you would like. I grew up wrenching on cars and have done everything myself for the last 16 years from small maintenance, to axles swaps, to tranny replacements on older vehicles etc. i'm comfortable taking anything apart, but i certainly wouldn't say i am an expert in all things mechanical. However i greatly believe in research, research, research first . . . and the information and answers are out there. I have been researching on this forum as well as a few other places (and the Honda service and repair guide) for the last 4 days straight. I have learned a lot, but also recognize that many of you have incredible experience and in short would like to run this scenario past members to see if the diagnosis makes sense.

I'm looking to buy a bike, its a '72 CB450. According to the owner it has been sitting for the last 2 years because the valve guides went bad and according to his original post, burns oil when letting off at high RPM's. He is selling because he has too many projects and doesn't have the time. I have researched this issue, I have learned a lot, and i understand that for this to be fixed correctly i would have to remove the head and really send it out to make sure the new valve guides are put in properly. I think where i am a little wary is this:

Should this failure have really rendered it NOT running and un-ridable for the last 2 years? I could see it not running well, losing compression, and not something you would want to ride to prevent damage, but i'm suprised that it won't even start. When i ask if it started his response was that he could "probably get it to run with starter fluid".