Honda Twins banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hiya Gang, I decided to replace the original horn on the 81CM400C as it sounded like it was stuttering and pushing about 40 decibels. Swapped it out with a denali sound bomb mini. No sound, just a little clicking noise so there's something happening. Swapped back the original and there's zero sound now. The connections all look to be okay. Idea's of where to start? I've got very little electrical experience, so pretend your talking with a caveman. Thanks!

·
Registered
3,257 Posts
Caveman eh?

Normally I'd suggest a multimeter for all tests, but to keep things simple I'll recommend a 'test light'.

https://m.harborfreight.com/6-12-volt-circuit-tester-4288.html

Its a simple device, think light bulb with wires, one has a clip and one has a pointy probe. You clip one end to your negative battery terminal and use the pointy end to look for electricity on the connection you touch the probe tip to. Try touching the probe to your positive battery terminal, the light will light up.

My guess is you'll clip to the negative battery terminal and probe your two horn wires and find nothing. Now press your horn button and probe your two horn wires, one of them should light the bulb in the tester.

If none of the above will light up the light, you've got a wiring issue or a switch issue. You may also take some scrap wire and connect your old horns connections to your positive and negative battery terminals, if the horn honks you've got a strong battery and a good horn, try your new horn too.

Let us know how it goes, we'll help as you go.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·