Honda Twins banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently bought a 71 CB450 knowing that the headlight and taillight were not working. I figured it would just be a connection somewhere. I am new to motorcycles, especially something this old. Just would like a few pointers on where to start checking. I know a lot of the wiring is housed inside of the headlamp housing.

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
Welcome - you should post an introduction in the Members Introduction are so we can get to know you and your bike. We like pictures too :D There are a lot of possibilities for the lights not working, from the headlight switch to wiring inside the headlight case to a bad ignition switch or connections at the ignition switch plug

·
Premium Member
2,838 Posts
This should be good for lighting circuit. Just to be sure, you are turning the headlight switch on correct?
Don't forget to download the FSM from the forum.

LED conversion.jpg

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Tonight is my first free night since purchasing the bike so I will begin troubleshooting. Updates to come. The wiring diagram is definitely a help as the one I had was in b/w. jd50i can you help on what FSM is?

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
Tonight is my first free night since purchasing the bike so I will begin troubleshooting. Updates to come. The wiring diagram is definitely a help as the one I had was in b/w. jd50i can you help on what FSM is?
Factory Shop Manual, way better than any of the aftermarket manuals from Haynes, Clymer, etc

·
Premium Member
2,838 Posts
Like I mentioned earlier, you do know there is a switch to turn the lights on and off?

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Like I mentioned earlier, you do know there is a switch to turn the lights on and off?
If you are referring to the switch next to the throttle handle that has off, L and H, then yes. If you are talking about something else, then enlighten me.

·
Premium Member