Honda Twins banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've gleaned a lot of useful information off of this site over the two months or so I've been riding, so I figured you folks might be able to help me again. I'm not good at point-to-point writing, so please bear with me.

I noticed my bike would stall during rain riding, for some reason it would randomly not be able to sustain idle. gave me a bit of trouble at stop lights, but it usually worked just fine on my return trips, so I didnt bother really worrying about it. a little while later, rain riding would cut my engine while idling, but i noticed whatever was happening was sucking power from throttle as well; my bike would have weakened power accelerating and maintaining speeds. my RPM's would fluctuate a bit when it happened, but always return to normal after a few seconds. I attributed it to water cooling the engine, getting in the air intake, perhaps bad gaskets, and later, maybe water in something electrical. The bike rode perfectly in warm weather, with none of these problems...and wasn't on fire, so I didnt worry too much about it.

Additionally, I changed the oil in the bike after i got it from a guy that used it for his commutes - 2 months after i got it. I did put a "sealer" type oil additive in it, just for kicks, so not sure how much it would contribute to the color of the oil when i changed it and replaced the filter, but the oil was pretty much black. slightly metallic, but no big particles in it. I ended up screwing that up having never done mechanic work, and ran the engine with essentially no oil in it - when replacing the filter gasket, it folded over and got cut when replacing the cap, so all the oil leaked out. however, the bike never made an off noise or gave me any problems during or immediately after the ride that werent already there. after the one ride, I replaced the gasket properly, added more oil, and the engine started up with no problems.