Honda Twins banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,
new to this forum but have been trying to get a new front caliper kit for my Honda Nighthawk cb450sc and have had no luck. The bike is in great condition but with the front caliper needing a service this is stopping me from partaking in rides with my mates and other collectors. I am in Australia so parts for this model a scarce.. Any help would be much appreciated in how I how get this machine back on the rd?? She is a survivor and to see her sitting there is not right for the journey of this bike...

any help please please please???

·
Registered
3,180 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hey thanks for the info,
The problem is that the pistons don’t retract so therefore there is a high pitch scraping sound when the bike moves in neutral and also when in gear..
I was advised by a mechanic that I would need the kit to have the work done??
I’m not a mechanic so I’m only taking there word and advice, and because the bike is an import I can only find parts for this model through eBay etc...

I will look at the seals online and get the right parts and see if the mechanic can do the work needed and re -seal after the work is complete. I gues this is my option if unable to buy a complete kit..??

·
Registered
3,180 Posts
The seal is a square cross section o-ring. The seal groove is angled to the piston bore. As the piston is pushed outward while braking, tension is built against the corners of the seal. As breaking pressure is released the seal wants to relax into its groove and takes the piston back in its bore in the process.

You need clean seal grooves, unpitted pistons and new seals.

And you don't need a mechanic to do this for you. Start a thread here in the appropriate section and help will be there. You can do this.

·
Registered
2,510 Posts
There are 2 pads, one on the outside of the caliper and one on the inside.