Honda Twins banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm new to this awesome forum. Lot's of good info but I still need some help.

The CL350K4 didn't run when I bought it but the previous owner said that it had been running good a couple of years ago but he knew that the carbs were a mess after sitting for a while. I cleaned and rebuilt the carbs with all new O-rings, floats, valves/seats, and pilot jets. After that it started and ran well. After some fine tuning and cleaning I decided to take it out for a longer ride than just around the block so I took for a 40 mile ride. When I got home I could smell burning oil. I looked over the engine and saw that there was quite a lot of oil coming out from the gasket between the cam case and the head. I decided to order a service gasket set from common-motors and replace every gasket and seal from the leaky gasket and up. After removing the engine from the frame I realized that the head gasket had also been leaking so I removed the head and the cylinders too.

So, I now have a few questions that I'm hoping to get answered.

- The cam chain tensioner rollers are kind of chewed-up (see photo). Should I replace or just reuse and keep it adjusted?
- If I should replace the rollers, where would be the best place to buy them?
- I noticed that the bottoms of the valves where different color shades, light and dark. The plugs are different shades too (see photos). Any ideas why? Caused by leaky head gasket? Carburation? Leaking valve guides? Other?
- The pistons, rings, and cylinders look good...should I just have the cylinders honed and reuse the rings?
- Should I have the heads gone over by a shop? Valve seats, lap valves, valve guides? If I should replace the valve guides, where should I buy them?

image3 (Large).JPG image1-x (Large).jpg image2 (Large).JPG

Thanks much,
Dan

·
Registered
12 Posts