Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a question regarding the newer style CDI units. I have a 1981 cm400t custom that I believe the TIa01-20 CDI died, as I have a no spark situation currently. I have ohmed out the coil incoming and outgoing and tested ok. I think I also seen the ac trigger wire putting out voltage as well. I also ohmed out the kill circuit and it also was ok. My problem is that the old CDI are not cheap and in a used crappy looking condition for around $100. I thinking that I can adapt a newer Chinese made one with dual CDI’s and coils and only pay around $40. Has anyone tried this yet? I am an electrical Automation tech by trade and feel confident in my skills. I have also been working on Motor cycles and engines for many years now. Thanks for any input in advance.
Brandon

·
Premium Member
24,208 Posts
Moved to the SOHC Electrical section
There's a technical explanation of how this CDI system works in the Technical Features section of the FSM. No one has attempted this to my knowledge and I doubt it it will work. But nothing ventured, nothing gain so I'd say go for it.
Used CDI's are a gamble, some good some bad. CDI Magician on eBay sells his units for $80-100 usually, Rex's Speed Shop in the UK sells his for @$145 shipped to the US.
Did you run the all the tests in the Igntion Diagnosis thread? https://www.hondatwins.net/forums/6...400-450-cb450sc-manual-trans-1978-1986-a.html
There's another option for the ignition system that uses an Ignitech ignition module that's programmable and only utilizes the primary pickup from the stator ass'y.

·
Registered
3,176 Posts
Well there has to be an answer out there, some other CDI from another bike can be adapted and have a functional timing advance.

I was looking at the 250 Nighthawk wiring earlier, I wonder if the CDI pulse is similar enough?

It sounds like you have the skill set and the motivation, I'll wish you good luck in your search.

·