Honda Twins banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! So I'm not new to vintage motorcycles, but this is my first time working on an old Honda.

I recently bought a 1974 cb450. I'm in the middle of a full restoration of my 1975 rd350, but wanted something to cruise around on while the weather is nice. Found a nice guy nearby with what I was led to believe to be a turn key cb450. After riding it about half an hour home, I found a gaping oil leak at the cylinder base.

A little annoyed but still optimistic, I tried retorquing the head bolts. The leak still persisted. So, seeing as it also burned a little oil, I decided to pull the motor and referesh the top end.

So far I've managed to replace the points, hone the cylinders, lap the valves, clean off all of that obnoxious carbon and clean out the oil slinger (which looks like it had never been touched).

Tragedy struck when I went to replace the piston rings, only to find that they were a rather unusual size. Looks as though they were bored out 3mm over (through the help of this forum I sourced some nos rings that should fit). I'm not quite sure whether this was for performance improvement or they just kept oversizing their pistons. Any input on this would be greatly appreciated.

Anyways, I've still got a little work to do on the electrical. The previous owner doesn't seem to be to capable with a soldering iron. As well as replacing some more of the ignition components. Then reinstall the motor and get back to riding.

I just want to say what a pleasure it's been working on a Honda. Everything is so we'll thought out. It all just makes sense.

Thanks for reading through my long rambling intro. I look forward to getting to know you guys and learning a little bit more about keeping this old girl running right.

Attachments

·
Registered
13,085 Posts