Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Read Only
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I currently have a 1982 Honda CM450, and apparently the battery that is on her now isn't strong enough to power it. I have to charge her flat out!!! Can someone suggest the proper sized battery for me? I'm a complete newbie to the bike world and need some help. Pics are attached of bike and current battery.

I will be purchasing a anti gravity battery at some point, but at this moment I'm looking for one a bit cheaper but still fits proper. Maybe the same brand battery but a stronger one...the right one? Again, I'm a newbie to the bike world lol Please help! Thanks in advance!

·
Sensei
27,018 Posts
That battery is only a 4 Ampere/hour rated unit.....IIRC, Your bike specifies and originally came with a 12 Ampere/hour battery .......YB12A-A
There is also an improperly connected green with red stripe wire shown in the pic.......Which is part of the neutral light/neutral and clutch starter safety switching circuit......So, THAT could be dangerous....

·
Read Only
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This bike has been through multiple owners and some wiring has been done recently. Like I said before, I'm a complete newbie, so can you give me a bit more info on the Red/Green wire issue your talking about? Thanks for the response!

·
Sensei
27,018 Posts
It's already posted on Hondatwins somewhere, so a phone call might be the way to proceed.....
Call when at the bike, OR at the wiring schematic........

·
Read Only
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Like I said I'm a complete newbie. Where on this forum might I find this info?

·
Registered
83 Posts
Two new-to-motorcycle hints; they are NOT Philips screws - they are JIS and Phillips screwdrivers just mangle them. Buy some JIS screwdrivers or go to Amazon and buy Motion Pro 1/4" hex JIS #2 and #3 bits. Electrical connections suffer more on bikes, and need to be clean and tight, particularly those close to and exposed to fumes from the battery.

·