Honda Twins banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
342 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thanks to my nephew I have access to a blast cabinet and a portable sand blaster. I will be doing a complete tear down of my CB400T II during the winter. I will need to sandblast lots of frame and misc. parts. I also want to refresh the outside of the motor to make it look like the factory finish. I have a pretty big compressor so I should have plenty of air. What I do not know is what blasting material to use. I just want to clean up the motor and strip the frame and misc. parts. I have no experience at sand blasting so we start with a clean slate. I have tried soda blasting with a home made rig and that was not very effective. All help appreciated.

·
Registered
3,138 Posts
Walnut shell works well for cleaning up cruddy aluminum. Bead blasting is good on painted parts, beads are less aggressive than sand. leaves a finish that is easier to get a glossy paint job.

·
Registered
475 Posts
I like to start off with a good pressure washing (car wash)to remove grease and grime. Glass bead at lower pressure on aluminum,black beauty blasting slag on frame.

·
Registered
2,475 Posts
I always bead blast the aluminum parts, and for sand blasting I use play sand. It works great, and is only $3.00 a bag. However you must run it through a screen before putting it into the blaster hopper.
TOOLS

·
Premium Member
1,931 Posts
I don't use any kind of sand, due to fear of silicosis.

I also never use glass media on any gasket surface, nor on any aluminum surface that I plan to polish, nor on any internal engine or gearbox surface.

·
Registered
1,609 Posts