Honda Twins banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey Folks,

TL;DR: Pics at the end.

I've never owned a bike. I've never ridden. After I asked about purchasing the bike about a year ago, my friend decided a couple of weeks ago that it was time to part ways with his old, 29k miles, Honda that had been collecting dust (and grime) in the family farmhouse. He signed it over to me and I've been working on since.

Chiefly, I've always wanted a bike, specifically an older one I could work on. I used to work on cars in high school and my degree is in mechanical engineering, so it's a love of mine. I live in the city, so I don't need it for transportation but it's hella handy when I can use it. Lately, my job has been taking me all around town for meetings that would be wonderful to have something to hop on and off easily, and not worry about parking.

I've always been a huge fan of cafe racers since I was 11, so I'm nudging the bike in that direction. I want to work on it, but not looking to completely rebuild/etc. So I'm owning the "worn" look.

When I got it:
  • Nothing was running
  • Carbs needed to be rebuilt (the fuel side was just caked in all sorts of nasty)
  • Electrics/wiring needed some cleaning up
  • Dirty af

What I've done:
  • Gone through most of the checklist on the new-to-me thread
  • Replaced the battery
  • Cleaned the wiring/rewired some areas
  • Stripped the bike of fenders, heat shields, reflectors
  • Rebuilt the carbs, about 4 times
  • Replaced the handlebars with zero drag ones
  • Moved the lighting around to some temp positions until I save up and buy the ones I want
  • Wrapped the pipes
  • Oil change
  • Replace air filter

What I need to do:
  • Get the M license (my course and tests are next week)