Honda Twins banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I have been on this forum for a while now. I have made a few post asking questions regarding my SL350 project. Well, I thought it was time I posted some pictures and share in my journey. I have never done something this in depth ever before. So, this has been an exercise in patients, humility, and more patients. Though my project is far from being complete, I feel I have come a long way.

I have a 1971 Honda SL350. I bought it about 10 years ago with the intent to take the engine and use it in a mini sand rail. Over the years that idea changed many times. Long story short, I settled on making it into a bobber. And to all the purist out there, I will admit that at the time I didn't really understand what I had (a cool, old, kinda rare motorcycle).

Jump to about a year ago, I started tearing everything apart.

What I have done and had done so far.

Land vehicle Vehicle Motorcycle Motor vehicle Car

This is what the bike looked like on the fateful night I tore into it with out a plane or direction other that I wanted to over haul the engine.

Land vehicle Vehicle Motor vehicle Automotive tire Spoke

Auto part Machine

Here is the empty frame and the engine spread out on a table.

Auto part Groupset Machine Engine Automotive engine part

Engine Auto part Automotive engine part Carburetor

as the cold set in I moved everything to my basement. Luckily I have yet to put carpet in (procrastination does pay off:)

Auto part

Auto part

Auto part

Here is a before and after I polished the combustion chamber... I must of been bored that day.

Auto part Metal

Auto part Metal

Plastic Circle

Circle Plastic

I am fortunate enough to work at a place where I have access to some equipment that has made the cleaning process a lot easier.

Auto part Vehicle

Automotive design Auto part Vehicle Automotive exterior Grille

Auto part Cylinder Engine Metal