Honda Twins banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I finally got my engine head reassembled and got the motor back on the bike, got it started up and sounding nice, but when I saddled up to take her on her maiden voyage I find I now have a problem (seemingly) with the transmission! Why can't something just go right! I really don't want to have to remove the engine again and break the chain to get into the crankcase, I'm no seasoned mechanic, but here are my symptoms and please someone tell me it's a relatively simple fix!

The bike sits in neutral and idles fine, I pull in the clutch and click it into first and can accelerate with surprising power, then when I go to kick it into second I find I have to hold the shifter up with my toe to keep it from slipping back into neutral. I can ride like this in second while holding the shifter up but this prevents me from shifting into any of the higher gears so I'm not sure if they also have problems. Any suggestions on how this can be fixed? (crossing my fingers that it can be repaired with the motor on the bike.)

Thanks again in advance!

Josh

·
Premium Member
2,386 Posts
funk2eat said:
....... then when I go to kick it into second I find I have to hold the shifter up with my toe to keep it from slipping back into neutral. I can ride like this in second while holding the shifter up but this prevents me from shifting into any of the higher gears so I'm not sure if they also have problems. Any suggestions on how this can be fixed? (crossing my fingers that it can be repaired with the motor on the bike.)

Thanks again in advance!

Josh
It sounds like you might have a problem with the roller detent wheel or a bent pin on the shift drum. Did you inspect the large and small roller whees that ride on the shift drum? It's common for them to have a lot of lateral play and these wheels help hold the drum in place after a shift has taken place.