Honda Twins banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
1978 cb400a Hondamatic. What kind of fuel mileage should I get? Bike is mechanically reconditioned, starts right up idles fine. Have taken it out for some long rides. To this point I'm only getting between 25 and 30 mpg. I'm 6'2 and 250 pounds, but my xs400 yamaha does over 40mpg. Just curious about the fuel range of similar bikes.

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
I'm far from an expert on the 400 series engines, but in my mind the fact that it is the Hondamatic probably has a lot to do with it. Your other 400 is likely a 5 speed manual and think about the difference in mileage on manual trans cars vs automatics back in the day when most automatics were 2 and 3 speed and manual trans cars were mostly 4 speed. The Hondamatic uses a torque convertor arrangement so it revs more and possibly with some intended slippage to get you to speed instead of using multiple ratios to get you there more efficiently

·
Registered
9,797 Posts
They also used a different cylinder head with smaller inlet ports (and valves??). I believe it was de-tuned to produce less HP than its (manual trans) brothers (26.8 HP vs 43 HP). This would make it work harder to 'pull its weight', along with only two gears going through a torque converter (not direct drive which transfers a bit less power to the rear wheel). On my CM400 manual trans I get between 45mpg (hard accelleration/high rpm riding) and about 55 mpg for light riding/accelleration.

·
Registered
9,797 Posts
Possibly, a member with a Hondamatic hasn't seen this post just yet.

·
Registered
121 Posts
hondamatic fuel consumption.

PM sent to jetcash and steve9e
hi guys,:D

Just seen the comments regarding fuel consumption of the CB400a. I ride in some very hilly areas mainly where the engine is worked hard and without a doubt I ride 130-140 miles before reserve which gives somewhere near 55-60 mpg. That is UK gallons not US tiddlers.