Honda Twins banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I currently have a 1982 Honda CM450 cafe racer project on the go. I also have the front end off a 2005 Ninja 636. I'm looking for some specs on both of the front ends so I can swap. Any help and advice is greatly appreciated as I'm a complete newbie. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
757 Posts
Are you planning to switch out the whole front end (triple clamps and forks) or are you just talking fork legs? Either one should be a matter of simple measurements (will it fit?) unless you're planning radical changes.

That said, I am not PERSONALLY familiar enough with either to know even general comparisons without seeing them, but changing the length of the fork can have undesirable consequences on trail, which in turn can have very undesirable effects on handling. There is much more at stake than aesthetics! ;) ...not much help I know, but your question looked lonely. :D

·
Registered
2,941 Posts
A complete front end swap will be simplest. Have a look at: https://www.allballsracing.com/index.php/forkconversion for a set of tapered roller head bearings to make that front end fit your bike.

Also for some tech that might be fun, have a look at the link in my signature line below.

·
Registered
2,941 Posts
Huge list of possibles but NOT Ninja 636
Perhaps with some careful measurements you can call them up to see what the roadblock is. Also if they do have a bottom or top bearing that fits, and steering stem length is long enough... a bearing cup could be fabricated to adapt the other bearing to the steering stem.

·
Registered
2,941 Posts
This thread has photos of the 636 stem with a tape measure showing where all the threads begin and end, maybe this is useful?

https://www.customfighters.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58680

From the allballs list:

the 636 bearing sizes are:
IDODWIDTHTOP BEARINGIDODWIDTHBOTTOM BEARING
35551499-3523-535551499-3523-5

And the CM450 sizes are: