Honda Twins banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all!

This is my first time using any forum for information, and after perusing several forums I still can't seem to nail down the problem.
I have a 1976 CJ360T that was running until I began a budget brat build on it. The motor is stock, brand new Mikuni VM30's, pod filters and 2-2 high flow exhaust. I have all new ignition parts from the coils to a PAMco electronic ignition. New boots, wires, the works.
My left cylinder is running cold, even after warming up, and the right cylinder is doing all the work. I can pull the boot off the plug on the left side and there is no change, but the engine dies when I pull off the right side. There are no air leaks, and the carbs have been synced. Today, and the reason I am writing on the forum, I noticed that the inside of the left exhaust pipe had a black sludge gathering on the tip, the right side does not. I'm not sure if that was un-burned fuel mixing with the carbon in the pipe or oil. The left plug is white and clean (the cylinder not working) and the left is normal, light brownish. I swapped the plugs themselves and the right cylinder still ran with the left not. The plug on the left side is firing, and was verified visually and with a tester on the wiring.
Could it be oil in the left cylinder? Could sitting for 6 months do this? Why would the plug still look brand new when the cylinder is firing, and getting fuel?
I'm trying to do this without a rebuild, but...

Thanks ahead of time!

-Trogoloff

·
Registered
555 Posts
Sounds like your left cylinder isn't firing at all (which I get, cause mine isn't right now either :p ). My problem was the PAMCO, so don't immediately assume that's a safe bet - try reversing your coils (left spark plug wire to right spark plug, left control wire (blue/yellow) to right control wire, etc.)). If it still runs only on the right cylinder, your spark's probably OK.