Honda Twins banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It looks like i have some bad leaking with my carbs on my cb350.
I am very new to mechanics and bikes in general.

Can anyone provide some help to how i can go about fixing this on my own. Half the reason I got the bike was to have something to learn mechanics on.

Below is a video of whats happening. Is this a leaking carb or just overflow from allowing to much fuel in with that manual fuel valve (I dont know the proper name haha)

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
Looks to be either float level is too high or you have a cracked overflow tube.
Either way, since you're new here you should check your Conversations and take a look at the link below

·
Registered
346 Posts
Was the carb next to it leaking the same way? If so, someone might've rebuilt them and set all the floats too high.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Was the carb next to it leaking the same way? If so, someone might've rebuilt them and set all the floats too high.
Yes, it was leaking, but not to same degree, and the other carbs seem to leak VERY little or not at all as you go down the line.

How would I go about trouble shooting or approaching this? (I have seen some videos on how to adjust the float, but I want to take it slow haha) Can I still ride it for the time being with out causing any additional damage?

·
Registered
346 Posts
I mean, technically you can still ride it. But would you want to with gas being vaporized underneath you? Only way I know to do it is take off the carbs and adjust them. Either way you're going to have to take them off and check for cracks, etc. If all of them are leaking, I bet someone adjusted the floats wrong which is an easier fix than soldering the cracked tubes. Can't hurt to remove, clean, and reassemble anyway.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #7