included 305, 350, 360 and 450 models. Maybe also 250cc
twins as well. I am just a beginner so please excuse. One
thing I see repeatedly stated is complaints about vibration
and I wondered if or when honda first used balance shafts
in their motors. It appears that in the last twenty years
or so many mfgrs have figured out how to smooth large
capacity single cylinder cycles such that today they predominate
I assume because they are cheaper to build and sell. I am
thinking the secret weapon here is the balance shafts used.

Anyone that has worked on a lot of these engines over the
last 40 years probably knows the answer and I would appreciate
some clarification.

Thanks from Atlanta, GA

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
The 450 was the initial big blow to the British bikes, but the real death knell was the CB750 4 cylinder in 1969. The later SOHC 400/450 series engines had balancers in them, not sure if they were the first from Honda to have them. Since you're now a member, please take a look at the link below and post an introduction so we can get to know you and your bike better to be of better help in the future

https://www.hondatwins.net/forums/23-member-introductions/121120-critical-read-before-posting.html

·
Registered
1,364 Posts
Kinda funny though.. I have first hand experience with both Triumph (650s)AND Hondas (450s)... Old Triumphs have a huge "tollerance" and motors can be literally "slappped together".. and run.. not saying how well, but they will run.. as for VIBTATIONS, there is plenty!! The only way I have found to reduce it(noticed I said reduce), it good valve adjustments, ignition timing, and carboration balance. My old 650s fire at 180 degrees.. depending on RPMs and load the vibrations will vary.. 50mph isn't to bad, higher speeds aren't as friendly. My moto and handlebars are hard mounted (no insulators), I have read about guys filling their handlebars with "rubber" or dense material in an attempt to reduce hands going numb.