Honda Twins banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, i could use some help as ive been stumped for a bit. I need to remove the rotor to replace my transmission but i cant figure it out. I have the 07933-2160000 tool but i cant seem to find the other piece to the puller for a k6 cb450 anywhere and i have no clue how they are measured. Im completely new to mechanics so im probably missing something super basic, but regardless im stuck lol. Any help is appreciated

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
You actually don't need to remove the rotor - just the cover with the stator in it. The rotor can stay on the crankshaft when you split the cases

·
Registered
2,558 Posts
The bottom engine case covers both the crankcase and the transmission; remove it, and all is revealed.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
oh ok, i was trying to avoid extracting the engine from the frame if possible. if there's not another way i guess ill start trying to plan that out. do you have any suggestions for removing it?

·
Registered
13,085 Posts
First - what type of transmission problems are you having? Some issues can be fixed in the right crankcase (clutch) cover. The shift shaft, outer end of the drum and shift detents are all accessible in the frame by removing the clutch cover

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
My transmission slips out of 2nd gear and its also stubborn to get into 3rd. Most of the bottom end of the engine i believe is original so going off what info i could gather i figured i should just replace the transmission entirely and check the shift forks for wear

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I already purchased a new transmission with no signs of wear a while back from a '73 cl450 i believe so i do already have that waiting

·
Registered
13,085 Posts