Honda Twins banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm new to bikes and anything mechanical so bare with me....

is it normal for my 74 CB350 to not be able to start with the low beam lights on? i stalled my bike in town at night. seems a little unsafe to need to turn the lights off before i kick start it back up (the starter doesn't work but it does make a clicking sound).

also what is the protocol to narrow down why my starter doesn't work.

·
Sensei
27,182 Posts
First, make sure you have a good battery......
You can check the large "bolt" solenoid terminals with an ohmmeter, should close between them when the click is heard.... Or you can "jump across them (solenoid terminals) and see IF the starter rolls over... (Clutch pulled or in neutral)..... If that idoesn't work, we'll check the starter motor itself....
Again, good battery (I use my trucks') and regular automotive jumper cables.... Bike in NEUTRAL...Connect Battery negative jumper to a good ground (Bottom motor-mount through-bolt is a good choice usually)... Touch the positive jumper to the terminal bolt at the top of the starter motor... It should roll the engine over, or at least spin.....You'll know which....
Post results please....

·
Registered
175 Posts
A note of caution: Don't connect an automotive battery to the motorcycle battery. If the MC battery is much below the state of charge of the auto battery, you can put a few hundred amp "charge" on the motorcycle battery. It won't like it, and could react violently. Jumping it to the starter post works fine, and you can do this with the ignition on to start the motor - just don't turn the key to the "start" position.

·
Sensei
27,182 Posts
Kerry,
I agree that directly connecting an auto battery to a bike battery is not a good idea, that's why my suggested proceedure ONLY affected the starter motor, not anything else on the bike.....