Honda Twins banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Total newb here and I'm trying to learn more and work through bike problems. I have a 1970 CB350 that I recently purchased and have been working on. When tuning the carbs and then riding the bike the 12v Shorai has been drained too low to use the electronic ignition so I brought it in to get charged and I'm confident there is an issue with the charging system on the bike. I wanted to test my rectifier with my multi meter and got into today and this is what I'm assuming my rectifier is:

unnamed.jpg

Assuming thats correct when I unplug the harness the plug is female on the rectifier side. I have not seen this before or during any of my research.

unnamed-1.jpg

If this is normal, how can I test the Rectifier? Is it clear that judging by this something weird has been done with the wiring all together?

Side note: could a low charge on the battery make the bike run weird? I noticed that this might be the case when I was riding around the block after I realized the battery was getting drained. Next, check will be the points.

Thanks for your help, stoked to work through this one and learn some electrical stuff!

·
Super Moderator
5,926 Posts
That is a Kohler Chinese Clone regulator/rectifier. It uses three wires plus ground the case. The center tap on the reg/rect is 12VDC regulated. It goes to the battery. The outer 2 tabs are for the output of the alternator.

Final assembly of reg.jpg

I used the original rectifier plug. Pink is from the alternator...Yellow is from the alternator, Black is 12V Battery Voltage, Green is ground. The case needs to be grounded on these. A good ground. I ran a second ground wire from the mount bolt to the frame for extra goodness.

The four prong female plug plugs into the harness (assuming you have stock harness) were the original rectifier was plugged in....if you have a different connection, the wire colors should be the same though.

·
Registered